Frumgirl 1: Reaffirmation of Presence and Purpose

Yes, I am aware that my already meager readership (or whatever there was of one,) has long since given up on new content. Still, I’m at loathe to discontinue this blog since the reason for its conception is not only alive and kicking, but downright flourishing from neglect under its dark and slimy rock.

Why’d I go AWOL this time? You can imagine my expression when I walked into my parents’ place one rushed Friday afternoon to spot a certain familiar blog header open on my youngest brother’s laptop. My family has a variety of opinions on the contents, (they recognized my voice instantly,) ranging from “you sound so subversive” to “it’s fairly well written.”

If you can’t imagine my expression then, how about when a non-Orthodox classmate asks me who I was referring to by one of my little ruthless classmate-descriptors here? No? Well, I’m sure both times it was a mix of shock, disbelief, and a tiny little traitorous slice of pride. A slice which has convinced me to keep writing, even though parents and classmates are reading now and anonymity has revealed itself to be transparent false security blanket in a very small world. I have never been the sort to pull punches or allow the opinions of people I do not respect affect the way I do or say things, and I’m not about to start now.

A lot has changed in the months since last post, including myself. I can pass for non-frummie far more effectively than ever before. I’m not quite sure how and why this occurred, but it doesn’t bother me as long as I can turn it on and off at will. It has lowered my patience for those willfully close-minded frum-bubble-dwellers who form opinions based on third hand and highly suspect visions of reality, but my patience for such has never been ideal to begin with. That was always at least a portion of the point of this blog: to gently, circuitously, and humorously cause at least a few people to think about whether bubble-dwelling is truly beneficial in the long run. For both ourselves microcosmically and as a group member of a larger global community that has the power to afford and deny us needs. Ignorance on both sides of the frum-bubble has not helped me or anyone I know one bit. There has got to be a better way to preserve who we are and what we believe in without isolating ourselves with a blanket war on media.

So I will keep on writing, regardless of who is reading (or not reading,) and if necessary I will be equally forthright in person to all confronters. Expect more.

Published in: on November 30, 2009 at 4:05 PM  Comments (9)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://frummeetsworld.wordpress.com/2009/11/30/frumgirl-1-reaffirmation-of-presence-and-purpose/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m still reading; hi.

  2. Let’s rock and roll.

  3. Bring it on.

  4. You still have a readership, it seems.
    We’re all waiting with baited breath.

  5. Wow. Keep it up.

  6. I have waited and waited and here you are back!
    I am pretty new to your site and went back and read all of it as soon as I found it, and then, well, see line #1. Since I was so new I didn’t know how long to wait to see if you were still there, and I’m glad I stuck it out.
    I’m a middle-aged Shiksa (that’s what they call me, it’s better than Shmatta, which is what they call my sister in law) married to a nice Jewish boy, secular as all get out. Communities are fascinating to me.
    Keep writing, and I’ll keep reading.
    (I hate high fives myself, complete or not, so I’ll bow.)
    Jenny

  7. Keep at it! 🙂

  8. still reading, and enjoying… glad you’re continuing

  9. glad your back! i will continue reading


Leave a Reply

