Frumgirl 4: Jewish Geography

“Did you see who’s coming to speak?” I asked Joe Joeson. A religious woman was giving a lecture, and I knew that Joe, with his obsession with religious Jews, would be interested. “Sarah Joeson. Are you going to listen?”

“Sarah Joeson? Is that really her name? I wonder if she’s related to me.”

“Oooh, you know how to play Jewish Geography?” I asked.

“What’s that?”

“Well it’s a game religious Jews play when they first meet. The point is to find out how many mutual acquaintances you have. Extra points if you can prove that they’re related to you.”

Really?”

“Yup. Last time I played, I discovered that my friend’s roommate was in my cousin’s bunk in summer camp.”

[Astonishment]

Joe wanders off and meets up with another religious student.

“Hey Janet, did you hear there’s this religious woman coming to speak? Sarah Joeson.”

“Really? Joeson? Is she related to you?”

“Ha! I know what you’re doing! You’re playing Jewish Geography!”

“You know about Jewish Geography?”

“Yeah, sure!” [Proudly] “Whenever you religious people get together you try to find out how many people you know in common.”

“Yes, that’s true.”

“And you get bonus points if you can prove the other person is related to you.”

“Um… no…?”

“No?”

Joe related this conversation back to me with a bit of a scowl. “I was doing so well and then… Boy you made me look stupid there.”

Oops.

Published in: on February 17, 2009 at 10:18 AM  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://frummeetsworld.wordpress.com/2009/02/17/jewish-geography/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hehehe. You should’ve just told him that was the advanced version that not everyone knows about. Then you’d have made him feel special again.

  2. Not just religious Jews play, Frumgirl1. I grew up in an identifying but non-Orthodox home, and we played all the time.

  3. Oh, sorry, I meant Frumgirl4.

  4. Helpful tool for playing:
    http://www.theknish.com/articles/new-search-engine-jewgle-launches/

  5. […] FG 4 Plays a Practical Joke on Fellow College Students […]


Leave a comment