Frumgirl 1: Reverse Assimilation

I personally can not stand the holiday season when in a secular environment. Chanukah is nice and all that, but we don’t celebrate it with paper decorations, so when people try to be PC and hang dreidels on the lobby xmas evergreen, the gesture just falls flat. Additionally, it’s annoying that a one day holiday somehow manages to dominate an entire season. I understand the the US is dominated by christian leanings, but I am nothing short of resentful that I have to endure their holidays taking over my non-religiously-affiliated school every December.

Finally, I found someone who understands this.

She’s LDS, (Mormon for the less informed,) and from a state out to the west that doesn’t go quite far enough to actually hit the other coast. She comes into school one day and says, “What’s a dreideldreideldreidel?”

“A what?”

“A dreideldreideldreidel,” she responds, “my son came home from daycare, where they sing all the carols, and he was singing this song, too. It went “oh, dreideldreideldreidel,’ and I was wondering if maybe it was a Jewish thing.”

So I laughed. And explained it to her.

But she was so miffed that her kid was taught this song amongst all the traditional carols like it belonged in her home.

I felt like saying “welcome to my world.”

Published in: on December 6, 2008 at 10:45 PM  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://frummeetsworld.wordpress.com/2008/12/06/frumgirl-1-reverse-assimilation/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. LOL!

    There’s a Jewish professor here too who complains about all the decorations. Personally, I figure if that’s the biggest complaint we have as Jews then we’ve got a lot to be grateful for. But do they really have to hang up the plastic evergreen piping and little red bows before Thanksgiving? And blasting carols out of loudspeakers is probably breaching some law against religious coercion.

  2. I have to admit, that is pretty funny! I don’t usually get too worked up about the holiday thing…Until my wedding photographer (who photographed my orthodox jewish wedding) started sending me emails that our wedding pictures would make great Christmas presents. I mean come on!

  3. Now that’s a cool story!

    Thanks for sharing 🙂

  4. Eh. Give them their fun once a year, we have more fun on our holidays anyway. Think about it, its not like it was in the time of the Gammara where you couldn’t do business with a non-jew for fear that he would use the money to do stuff for his idols on his many holidays. They now only really have one big one. We still get many more than they do. Pesach, Shevuos, Succos, channukah, Purim, Rosh Hashana, Tu Bishvat, (Erev) Yom Kippur. Our lives are filled with holidays.

  5. Is anybody home? Have you all graduated?

  6. Its been a month, are you guys coming back or is it a case of mass writers block?

  7. We’re coming back…a combination of writers block, winter break, and life is the cause for the hiatus.


Leave a Reply

